Skip to main content

Together for economic growth & development


Greater Copenhagen is a Danish-Swedish political co-operation. We are 85 municipalities and four regions that will build one of the world's most competitive metropolitan regions.

This page is an English summary of the Greater Copenhagen website. To see full content, please switch to Swedish or Danish

We want companies to have the best conditions for investing, creating innovations and attracting labour.  

We want citizens to have access to good jobs and be able to move freely across borders. 

We want universities, companies and public authorities, from Korsør to Kristianstad, to have the best conditions to cooperate and jointly develop green solutions, the region's cities and common infrastructure. Greater Copenhagen shall be a global centre for sustainable growth and green transport.

89 local and regional council chairs and mayors from Sweden and Denmark set the direction for Greater Copenhagen. We are driven by the desire to transform our metropolitan region through close and committed cooperation with the governments of Sweden and Denmark and with the EU.


Go to the Danish or Swedish site to see news from Greater Copenhagen

Annual report 2022

The annual report is now available.


Latest Tweets from @GreaterCph

The Board

Go to the Danish or Swedish site to see the Greater Copenhagen Board page

Carl Johan Sonesson
Chairman of Greater Copenhagen
Chairman of the Regional Board, Region Skåne

Lars Gaardhøj
Vice-Chairman of Greater Copenhagen
Chairman of the Regional Council, Region Hovedstaden

Mikaela Waltersson
Vice-Chairwoman of Greater Copenhagen
Chairwoman of the Regional Board, Region Halland

Mikael Smed
Vice-Chairman of Greater Copenhagen
Chairman of KKR Sjælland

Other board members

Katrin Stjernfeldt Jammeh
Chairwoman of the municipal board, Malmö

Sophie Hæstorp Andersen
Overborgmester, København

Christian Orsing
Kommunstyrelsens ordförande, Helsingborg

Camilla Palm
Kommunstyrelsens ordförande, Kristianstad

Henrik Fritzon
Regionråd, Region Skåne

Steen Christiansen
Formand, KKR Hovedstaden

Torkild Strandberg
Kommunstyrelsens ordförande, Landskrona

Anders Almgren
Kommunstyrelsens ordförande, Lund

Patric Åberg
Ordförande, Skånes kommuner

Randi Mondorf
Regionsrådsmedlem, Region Hovedstaden

Heino Knudsen
Regionrådsformand, Region Sjælland

Mads C. Andersen
Byrådsmedlem, Køge kommune

Jan Hendeliowitz
Regionsrådsmedlem, Region Sjælland

Karsten Längerich
Borgmester, Allerød kommune